Tax Sale Properties
June 26, 2019, 08:26:36 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Tax List Property Listings Forum

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Tax Sale Property Main Site
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: conflicting info??  (Read 22334 times)
imz
Bronze

View Profile
« on: June 25, 2008, 12:30:40 AM »

newbie here......maybe someone can help.
for these tax sale properties, is it possible that there is a standard bank mortgage on the propery and if so, i presume that the mortgage comes with the property?
so if i bid $50,000 and there is a mortgage of 350,000, i assume the mortgage as well for a total cost of $400,000?
i read somewhere that these properties (tax sales) are free and clear of all bank mortgages.
(there may be crown mortgages, but not bank mortgages)
which is it??

--
2.  how much does a title search and execution search cost?  what are searches are necessary for complete due diligence?

thnx
Pfm1011
Senior

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2008, 04:19:26 AM »

First any mortgages on the land are void.  However a bank wont take a haircut for 350k and they are notified of the sale, they will redeem to recover their asset so the only mortgage holders who get burned are private and even thats rare.  The bank is notified one year prior to the sale at the same time the owner is given the notice of sale.

Only "crown interests" remain . Crown interest is any money owed to any government agency.  IE Income tax judgements.

You must do title search on property and execution search on owner. If  the government has a judgement on the owner, it will stick to the land even if not registered on title. Private judgements do not stick even if they are registered on title.